Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

AUTO RACING: NASCAR is Georgia-bound; F1 heads to Austria


All Times Eastern NASCAR CUP SERIES Quaker State 400 presented by Walmart Site: Hampton, Georgia. Schedule: Saturday, qualifying, 11:35 a.m.;…

All Times Eastern


Quaker State 400 presented by Walmart

Site: Hampton, Georgia.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying, 11:35 a.m.; Sunday, race, 3 p.m. (USA).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 260 laps, 400 miles.

Last year: Kurt Busch won after starting eighth.

Last race: Tyler Reddick outdueled Chase Elliott and cruised to victory at Road America for his first victory in NASCAR’s premier series.

Fast facts: Reddick became the 13th different race-winner through 18 events and the fifth first-time winner this season. … His victory made 2014 series champion Kevin Harvick, the fourth-ranked non-winner in the standings, the first driver who would not make the 16-driver playoffs if the standings remain the same through the final eight races of the regular season. … Elliott expanded his points lead to 33 over Ryan Blaney and 35 over Ross Chastain. … Blaney, Martin Truex Jr. and Christopher Bell are the non-winners in the top 16.

Next race: July 17, Loudon, New Hampshire.

Online: http://www.nascar.com


Alsco Uniforms 250

Site: Hampton, Georgia.

Schedule: Saturday, qualifying, 10:05 a.m., and race, 5 p.m. (USA).

Track: Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 163 laps, 251 miles.

Last year: Kyle Busch won from the pole position.

Last race: Ty Gibbs passed Kyle Larson on the last lap of overtime at Road America and won for the series-best fourth time this season.

Fast facts: Gibbs trimmed his deficit from 25 points to nine behind points leader AJ Allmendinger. Justin Allgaier is third, 34 points behind. … Gibbs has won four times in 16 races this season and eight times in 34 races for his career; no other driver has won more than twice this season. … Allmendinger registered his 14th top-10 finish of the season. Fourth-place Noah Gragson is next with 11.

Next race: July 16, Loudon, New Hampshire.

Online: http://www.nascar.com


O’Reilly Ato Parts 150 at Mid-Ohio

Site: Lexington, Ohio.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 9:35 a.m., and qualifying, 3:35 p.m.; Saturday, race, 1:30 p.m. (FS1).

Track: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Race distance: 67 laps, 151 miles.

Last year: First time at this venue.

Last race: Ryan Preece pulled away on a restart with 10 laps to go, then held off challenges from Zane Smith and Carson Hocevar to win at Nashville for the second year in a row.

Fast facts: Preece’s two victories have come in just eight career starts. … Zane Smith is the new points leader by 21 over John Hunter Nemechek and 30 over defending series champion Ben Rhodes. … Smith also leads with eight top-five finishes, 12 top 10s and 339 laps led. … The top five in the standings are the only series regulars to have won races this season.

Next race: July 23, Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Online: http://www.nascar.com


Austrian Grand Prix

Site: Spielberg, Austria.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 7:30 a.m., and qualifying, 11 a.m.; Saturday, practice, 6:30 a.m., and sprint, 10:30 a.m.; Sunday, race, 9 a.m. (ESPN).

Track: Red Bull Ring.

Race distance: 71 laps, 190.42 miles.

Last year: Max Verstappen won on consecutive weekends, both times from the pole position.

Last race: Carlos Sainz Jr. won the British Grand Prix, his first career Formula One victory, when a late tire change allowed him to pull away.

Fast facts: Sainz’s victory came in his 150th F1 start. … He became just the fourth different winner through 10 races, with points leader Verstappen having won six times. … Seven-time series champion Lewis Hamilton led laps for the first time this season and finished third, just his third podium finish of the season. … Verstappen, who finished seventh after engine trouble, leads Sergio Perez by 34 points and Charles LeClerc by 43.

Next race: July 24, Le Castellet, France.

Online: http://www.formula1.com


Last race: Scott McLaughlin won for the second time in his career, both this season, by outrunning defending series champion Alex Palou at Mid-Ohio.

Next race: July 17, Toronto, Canada.

Online: http://www.indycar.com


Last event: Mike Salinas won in Top Fuel and Robert Hight won in Funny Car in Norwalk, Ohio.

Next event: July 15-17, Morrison, Colorado.

Online: http://www.nhra.com


Next events: July 8, West Burlington, Iowa, and July 9, Wilmot, Wisconsin.

Online: http://worldofoutlaws.com/sprintcars


More AP auto racing: : https://apnews.com/hub/auto-racing and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

© 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, written or redistributed.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.